Jr. Lady Pirates XC wins Heber Springs


The Courier | 9/17/2019

HEBER SPRINGS — Several local teams competed in the annual Josh Park Memorial Cross Country Invitational.

The Junior Lady Pirates won their fourth consecutive championship dating back to last year’s 4A-4 District Championship run, five of their last six meets.

The Lady Pirates were led by Whitley Singleton, she medaled, placed sixth and ran a sub-15 in the hot conditions at 14:58. She was followed by fellow runners Emily Jones medalist eighth-place (16:07), Carley Nantze, medalist 17th-place (16:11), Jaidyn Eby (16:42), Tori Metzer (17:26), Zoie Stutzman (17:57), Piper Koster (18:50), Allyson Casey (19:05), Savanah Daubenheyer (19:29), and Avie Reams (21:22).

“I wasn’t sure exactly where we would start out this year, and was thankful to see us come out on top,” said Dover head coach Mike Heath. “This race is probably one of the toughest in the state when you figure in the competition, the terrain and unfortunately the brutal heat. We had a great showing from our girls and had one, Bree McCrotty go down from the heat. She was running strong but just hit a wall out there. This race is always full of traditional power teams such as Heber Springs and Harrison to name a few, so to come and perform like these junior girls did says a lot about them. I want to say this is the first time we have won this meet. We got edged out by seconds last year by Melbourne. We still have a long ways to go to accomplish our goals and only hard work and time will tell.”

The Pottsville Apaches had a team time of 1:10:05. Top runners were Jaxson Cox, Sebasstyn Bartlett, Logan Tatro, Colby Eglioff and Colton Cole. Cox medaled for fifth-place in the 1-4A division with a time of 12:59:75 and received 13th overall out of 380 runners.

Karsyn Moudy placed ninth in the 1-4A division for the junior girls with a time of 15:24:31 and 17th overall out of 306 runners.

The Lady Apaches placed fourth out of 21 teams.

Russellville competed in the 5-6A Division, where Brooklyn Nicholson was the overall winner with a time of 14:23.72. Ali Lara, a seventh-grader, finished fourth overall with a time of 14:48.68. The Lady Whirlwinds finished third overall.

River Hardman medaled for Russellville on the men with a time of 13:26.36. Shawn Metz medaled in 13:27.71. The Whirlwinds finished fifth overall.